KWTA Official speaks out about WATER towers in Kenya


On Thursday, November 10, 2022 – There are over 100 water towers in Kenya, a Kenya Water Towers Agency (KWTA) research officer Mary Mwololo has said.

And she added that there is a criteria that is used in identifying the water towers. The scientist was lecturing stakeholders during a review and validation workshop for the Nuu Hills Water Tower status report organised by the Kenya Water Towers Agency at the Kitui Parkside Villa Hotel in Kitui Town on Wednesday, November 9, 2022.

The Nuu Hills Water Tower is in Nuu Location, Mwingi East District of Kitui County.

The report covers the introduction, hydrology, location description, population, biodiversity, ecosystem services, stakeholder profiling, proposed interventions, social-economic activities, threats facing the water tower, conclusion and recommendations aspects, according to Mwololo.

CLICK TO READ MORE :  Kitui’s Hustler Nation Dedicated Soldier Hon Antony Ndeleva Laid To Rest

The Nuu Hills Tower is one of the dry lands in Mwingi East District, Kitui County. It comprises of four blocks-Nuu, Mutaitho, Imba/Kyaikuyu and Maai. The tower’s annual rainfall is between 250 milimetres and 750 milimetres.

Its environment is arid and semi-arid. And its rainfall is biomodal. The other water towers in Kitui County include the Mutitu, Endau, Muumoni and Mutha Hills Water Towers.

The Kenya Water Towers Agency is a state corporation under the Kenya’s Environment and Forestry Ministry established in 2012. There are some water towers in Kenya that are not gazetted but they are in the process of gazettement.

CLICK TO READ MORE :  Happy Holidays greetings from Bonnie Musambi

The Mau Forest Complex, Cherangani Hills, Mount Elgon, Aberdare Range and Mount Kenya are the Kenya’s five major water towers.

The country’s other gazetted water towers are the Marmanet Forest, Loita Hills, Kyulu Hills, Huri Hills, Kirisia Hills, Mathews Range, Mount Kipipiri, Mount Kulal, Mount Marsabit, Mount Nyiru, Ndotos Hills, Nyambene Hills and Shimba Hills.

These water towers enable electricity generation, irrigation, agriculture, wildlife, tourism, health and preserve biodiversity as well as the indigenous knowledge.

In total, the Kenya Water Towers Agency has eight regional offices namely Central Rift Region in Narok Town, North Rift Region in Kitale Town, Central Rift Region in Eldoret Town, Coastal Region in Changamwe, Mombasa Town, Eastern Region in Kitui Town, Mount Kenya Region in Nyeri Town, North Eastern Region in Marsabit Town and Lake Region in Kisumu Town.

CLICK TO READ MORE :  Dr Penina Malonza Meets Miss Diana Mbocha – The Miss Tourism International (Kenya)

The agency coordinates and overseas the protection, rehabilitation, conservation and sustainable management of water towers. And it coordinates and overseas the recovery and restoration of forest lands, water lands and biodiversity hot spots.

And it promotes the implementation of sustainable livelihood programmes among others.

Mwololo said they the KWTA partner with the Kenya Forestry Research Institute (KEFRI), Kenya Forest Service (KFS), National Environment Management Authority (NEMA), national and county governments, National Drought Management Authority (NDMA), Water Resources Authority (WRA), Kenya Meteorological Department (KMD), non-governmental organisations and community based organisations among others.