Dr. Wathe holds Talk with National Government Vet Officers


Saturday, 18th May 2019

Kitui Governor’s Press

By Charles Muthoka

Kitui County Government has held a partnership meeting with a technical team from the Directorate of Veterinary Services in National Government’s Ministry of Agriculture, led by the Director in charge of Veterinary Services Dr. Obadiah Njagi, on Friday in Kitui town.

The meeting which was Chaired by the Deputy Governed Dr. Wathe Nzau explored areas of cooperation between the County Government and National Government specifically in the field of Agriculture so as to promote food security which is in line with Governor’s pillar of Food and Water.


The key areas of discussion were _Apiculture_ which is mainly Bee farming alongside coordinated vaccinations with the neighbor counties to achieve disease-free status, Animal improvement programs on Cattle, Goats and Chicken, collaboration and information sharing on the proposed Abattoir facility at Kanyoonyoo.

Speaking in the meeting, the team leader Dr. Obadiah Njagi promised that, his team is going to offer training to all the livestock officers and also to the farmers who are the main producers to make sure their products are of high quality which can meet the standards of the International market.

CLICK TO READ MORE :  Kalonzo Must be the Chief Guest, Mp Mbai Declares

Dr Wathe lauded the Cabinet Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture Hon Mwangi Kiunjuri for directing his staff to visit Kitui County as he had promised Governor Charity Ngilu last week in his office, citing the partnership will help kitui people to acquire modern farming technology which ultimately will lead to wealth creation and poverty eradication in the County.

CLICK TO READ MORE :  Kefri Official speak out On Dryland Echo-region Research Program ( DERP)

Others present in the meeting were CECM Emanuel Kisangau in charge of Agriculture, Water and Livestock Development, C.O James Mbii for Agriculture, County livestock development deputy director Dr. Maluki.. and other senior officers from the Ministry of Agriculture in the National and County Governments.