10 Coast Region Mps Accuse Raila Odinga of betraying Them Over Revenue Vote


Members of Parliament from the Coast Region have accused the Raila Odinga-led Orange party for betraying them over the revenue sharing formula vote.

The 10 lawmakers drawn from Coastal counties named several Nyanza senators, terming them enemies of the Coastal region.

Led by ODM’s Owen Baya (Kilifi North), the Coast MPs said by Senators James Orengo (Siaya), Fred Outa (Kisumu), Moses Kajwang’ (Homabay) and Ochillo Ayacko (Migori) voting to deny the region resources is the highest form of betrayal.

READ MORE :  Support brave Ngilu, Muthama tells kamba leaders

“The debate and subsequent vote on the Majority Whip Irungu Kangata’s amendments on the revenue sharing formula has exposed who our true friends are,” Baya said.

The lawmaker said the vote exposed the ideological hypocrisy of their so called ‘political bedfellows’.

“We wish to tell them that their selfish votes may be celebrated at home because they were to attempt to save BBI and a few million shillings as benefits of handshake. ”

READ MORE :  Kenya World Athletic Champion Eliud kipchoge breaks his own record

Someday, they have also congratulate the former senator of Machakos honorable Johnstone Muthama for his advice he gave the people of Kenya where he said that BBI is going nowhere and he told the Kenyans to be careful with the BBI report.

The lawmakers noted
that the action of the ODM will have political ramifications in 2022 adding that the region is considering courting new friends going forward.

READ MORE :  Kitui Assembly Reconvenes with "Special Calls" to Prioritise Musangi

The lawmakers included; Mohammed Ali (Nyali), Michael Kingi (Magarini), Aisha Jumwa (Malindi), Sharif Ali (Lamu East), Andrew Mwadime (Mwatate), Khatib Mwashetani (Lunga Lunga), Jones Mlolwa (Voi) Paul Kahindi (Kaloleni) and Benjamin Taya (Kinango)