Dr. Julius Malombe Gets State Appointiment.


By County diary

Kitui former Governor Dr. Julius Makau Malombe was among the individuals who lost in the last General Election have been awarded plum parastatal jobs as board chair, directors and board members.

In also what is seen as a tactical calming of the storm that has brewed within the country, The President Uhuru Kenyatta, in a gazette notice dated May 3, 2019 has appointed and re-appointed key figures to balance out the scales.

Former MP Dennis Waweru has been appointed non-executive chairman of the Kenya Investment Authority, while Jamleck Kamau as chairman of Tana and Athi Rivers Development and Dan Mwanzo to head Kenya Ferry Services.

Hon jebii Kilimo has been appointed chairperson to the trustees of the Street Families Rehabilitation Trust Fund.

Former Kitui Governor Julius Malombe has been named chair of the Kenya Water Towers Agency, Dr Malombe who is perceived to be the key threat to Kitui incumbent governor Ngilu, by virtue of the position; the Dr will also sit in the boards of KFS,KWS,WRMA,KTB;WAB,WSB

former Siaya gubernatorial hopeful Nicholas Gumbo is now the chair of the Kenyatta National Hospital board and Elias Mbao will head the NEPAD/APRM Kenya Governing Council.

President Kenyatta’s brother-in-law Victor Pratt has been re-appointed as chair and member of the Retirement Benefits Authority, Franklin Bett as chair of the Agricultural Finance Corporation and Baringo Senator Gideon Moi’s wife Zahra as a member of the Tourism Research Institute.

Other appointments include:

  1. Michael Bowen – Chairman of the Industrial Development Bank (Capital).
  2. Abdirahiman H. Abdi – Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Insurance Regulatory Authority.
  3. Robin Achoki – Non-Executive Chairperson of the Kenya Plant Health Inspectorate Service (KEPHIS) Board.
  4. Angeline Yiamiton Siparo – Non-Executive Chairperson of the National AIDS Control Council.
  5. Sam Kona – Chairman of the National Council for Population and Development Board.
  6. Ignatius Kahiu Chairperson of the New Kenya Co-operative Creameries Limited Board. (The appointment of Eliud Matu Wamae is revoked.)
  7. Karanja Mburu (Eng.), Abdalla Gonzi, – members of the LAPSSET Corridor Development Authority Board.